Web Analytics Made Easy - StatCounter
Vichaar Manthan - Sustainable Narratives - Fireside Conversations

Shashi Tharoor

Sunday July 5th - 13:00 - 13:45 BST

Shashi Tharoor explores what he thinks are the biggest challenges facing humanity over the next thirty years. How will technology alter democracy? Is liberty under threat? Will Nationalism outgrow internationalism? How will the Indian story play out in the light of a dominant China, and a nationalist America? Is Europe in a permanent decline? And what will the international order in 2050 look like? Join us as we explore the toughest challenges facing humanity. 

Politician, Author and Former UN Diplomat

2050: Global Order

05:00 PDT; 08:00 EDT; 14:00 CEST; 17:30 IST

Suhag Shukla

Thursday, July 2nd - 21:00 - 21:30 BST

Donald Trump is a polarising global figure. He is out to create a new world order by his own accord. A world order where America comes first and looks after its own interests above all others. He has systematically weakened international institutions, and encouraged nationalism all over the world. Join us in conversation with Suhag Shukla, for an earnest exploration of Trumpism - motives and objectives. 

Executive Director of the Hindu American Foundation (HAF)

Understanding Trump and the rise of American nationalism

13:00 PDT; 16:00 EDT; 22:00 CEST; 01:30 IST

Acharya Vidyabhaskar

Saturday July 4th - 15:00 - 15:45 BST

Human beings strive to lead an ethical life. Principles which underpin our experience of the world, ourselves and shape the decisions we make. The world, to a large extent can be said to represent the combined ethics of humanity. What can we do to live a more sustainable life? What does it mean to live sustainably? Join us as we explore the moral maze of Sustainable Ethics. 

Head of Sanskrit and Indian philosophy at the Omkarananda Ashram

Sustainable Ethics

07:00 PDT; 10:00 EDT;16:00 CEST; 19:30 IST

Drishti Mae

Saturday July 4th - 16:15 - 17:00 BST

Drishti was born in a Muslim household in the United Kingdom. Today she is a Hindu, and the President of the National Hindu Students’ Forum - the largest Hindu student organisation outside of India.

Join us as we explore her journey. How liberated and empowered are women in modern Islam? What do madressas teach young girls about themselves and their place in society? How difficult is it for young people to leave Islam, and what can ex-Muslims do to find their rightful place in society. 

President of the National Hindu Students’ Forum (UK)

Women & Islam

08:15 PDT; 11:15 EDT; 17:15 CEST; 20:45 IST

Professor Gad Saad

Saturday July 4th - 20:30 - 21:15 BST

Professor Gad Saad tells us about his upcoming book on how bad ideas, which are infectious, are harming our ability to use Common sense.  In a very candid exploration he will draw on his experiences at western universities which are often hotbeds for “no platforming”, “political correctness”, and a general drift away from reason. He offers a solution to help us bring reason and commonsense back to the centre ground, and how to defeat the pandemic of bad ideas percolating in our lives. Join us on what will be a candid and edgy conversation.

Professor of Evolutionary Psychology and Author

The Parasitic Mind: How Infectious Ideas Are Killing Common Sense

12:30 PDT; 15:30 EDT; 21:30 CEST; 01:00 IST

Eric Lonergan

Friday July 3rd - 20:30 - 21:15 BST

The world is an angry place according to Eric Lonergan. This anger is legitimate and long overdue. The disparities between what economists and elites think, and the models they create, in relation to the experience of flesh and blood human beings are widening to a point of political upheaval.  Join us as we explore the remedy of angrynomics.  

Economist, Macro Hedge Fund Manager, and Author

Angrynomics

12:30 PDT; 15:30 EDT; 21:30 CEST; 01:00 IST

Abhijit Iyer Mitra

Saturday July 4th - 13:00 - 13:45 BST

What is better for human flourishing - a BIG state, one that takes a paternal role towards its citizens and proactively intervenes and shapes and guides the life of individuals? Or is a small state better, one that provides the basics - defence, security, and infrastructure, but refrains from involvement in the life of the individual? Will the Chinese model of governance model become the most dominant, or the Scandanavian interventionist model, or the American model of maximising individual liberty? Join us as we explore the future of the Nation-State with Abhijit Iyer Mitra. 

Senior Fellow at the Institute of Peace and Conflict Studies

BIG STATE small state

05:00 PDT; 08:00 EDT;14:00 CEST; 17:30 IST

Kushal Mehra

Friday July 3rd - 15:00 - 15:45 BST

Postmodern thought underpins much of our public life. It has permeated across academia, architecture, art and literature. Postmodern ideas undermine truth claims, and as such liberate the human being from the shackles of societal norms and custom. While at the same time uprooting the individual from the bonds which gave security, a degree of certainty and belonging. 

Join us as we explore what is postmodern thought? Why is it so powerful and all-pervading? 

Podcaster, Host of the Cārvāka Podcast

De-constructing Postmodernism?

07:00 PDT; 10:00 EDT; 16:00 CEST; 19:30 IST